Push updates about your queue status to Slack to keep your team informed.
Trunk Merge integrates with Slack to push relevant information to your team so you can stay up to date with the status of your pull requests.
Setup Integration with Slack
After you have Merge set up and running in your repository you can set up Slack notifications. There are two ways to configure where notifications are delivered: per queue and per user. You can have all notifications from a specific Merge Queue send to a Slack channel. You can also have notifications for PRs authored by you, regardless of which queue they are going through, sent as a DM to you.
Merge Queue Specific Notifications
After you have Merge set up and running in your repository, you can set up your integration with Slack in Settings > Repositories > the specific repository with the Merge Queue.
Click "Connect" to install the Trunk Slack application and receive Merge notifications in a specific channel. Once you have authorized the app to post to a channel, you will be redirected to your settings page.
User Specific Notifications
To have notifications for PRs you authored regardless of what Merge Queue they're going through sent as a DM to you, you go to Settings > Account > Connect
Note: For user specific notifications you must have your GitHub account connected to your Slack account. The button to do this is in the Settings > Account > Link GitHub Account section.
Configuring Your Integration with Slack
After you have connected to a Slack channel, you can select which notifications you would like to receive. By default, all Merge notifications are enabled.
Merge is paused or resumed
Receive a notification when merging has been paused or resumed.
Pull request is merged
Receive a notification when a pull request is merged into the target branch.
Pull request is canceled
Receive a notification when a pull request is canceled.
Pull request fails
Receive a notification when a pull request fails tests or otherwise fails to merge into the target branch.
Pull request is merged without using Trunk Merge
Receive a notification when a user merges directly to the target branch without submitting to Trunk Merge. This will cause any in-progress pull requests to be restarted, and typically should only be done in emergencies by designated administrators.